PDA

View Full Version : Oil Pulling Heals Gums & Whitens Teeth, Naturally

Julieanne
01-14-14, 04:30 AM
Sayward Rebhal
January 10 2014

When I first read about oil-pulling, it set off just about every skeptic alarm bell in my brain. See, I’m a hippie, tried and true. I was raised by hippies and spent my childhood burning sage in dry river beds while dancing to the rhythmic pulse of a spiritual drum circle.
But now I’m all grown up, and as it turns out, I’m a scientist. So I love my natural, holistic, alternative therapies. But I need them to make good logical sense, too.
And when I first read about oil pulling? Well, it didn’t make so much sense.
Oil pulling is the ancient Ayurvedic (http://www.care2.com/greenliving/6-wonderful-ayurvedic-home-remedies.html) technique that basically involved swishing a tablespoon of cold-pressed oil around in your mouth every morning for 20 minutes. Because purportedly, this swishing will pull the “toxins” out from all over your body, drawing them into the oil and therefore cleansing your whole system. Which heals your gums and whitens your teeth. Because the oil pulls the “toxins” out of your tongue.
So, no. That doesn’t make any sense.

Read more: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/oil-pulling-heals-gums-whitens-teeth-naturally.html#ixzz2qMLzKims

Mr. Wizard
01-14-14, 09:45 PM
Is there any merit to the cautions against oil pulling if you have mercury fillings or bridge work?

grulla
01-14-14, 09:59 PM
Has anyone tried pulling with H2O2, as I do each and every morning after brushing?

Reesacat
01-14-14, 10:18 PM
I oil pull with coconut oil before coffee and after breakfast brush teeth with Earthpaste and then swish H2O2. How do you pull H2O2 ?

grulla
01-14-14, 10:23 PM
I simply oscillate my cheeks pumping the H2O2 back and forth through the teeth and gums. Now that you ask, I'm starting to wonder if that meets the definition of "pulling"?

Reesacat
01-14-14, 10:24 PM