PDA

View Full Version : Breast Cancer Screening

LabDoc
05-18-11, 08:44 AM
A question for the ladies of HH. I recently read an article on another 'health site' which espoused the benefits of Thermography over traditional X-ray mammography for breast screening. Thermography was quoted as being superior in a number of ways, but I also read from another source that Thermography has not been scientifically proven as a diagnostic tool and is not able to detect 'growths' until they are of a significant size. Now being a male I have never had reason to have either procedure but I am sure most of you have. I would be interested on your opinions/expertise on the usefulness of the two and which you think is diagnostically better ?

Islander
05-18-11, 09:40 AM
LabDoc, I think I know the site and the comment you're referring to. I'm no expert but I have looked into thermography. Until recently, the closest option was in Maryland (about an 8-hour drive) and of course it's not covered by Medicare. Recently a unit opened less than an hour from me, so acceptance seems to be growing.

Everything I've read indicates that thermography can spot tumor growth up to ten years before it becomes visible in a mammogram. My understanding is that it is a far superior diagnostic tool that could conceivably encourage a woman to make lifestyle changes that would enable the body's own defenses to attack and destroy irregular cells.

What follows is pure speculation. If thermography is so accurate, why are doctors still referring their patients to mammography? Possibly because their practice has money invested in these machines? I think when thermography centers proliferate and the pressure becomes intense, insurance companies and Medicare will have to get on board.

Reesacat
05-18-11, 12:39 PM